Nepinak Family Still Searching For Answers

RED POWER MEDIA

1318022703288_ORIGINAL Susan Caribou looks at a photo of her neice Tanya Nepinak in Winnipeg Friday September 23, 2011. Nepinak’s body is believed to be in the Brady Landfill. (BRIAN DONOGH/WINNIPEG SUN FILES)

By Jim Bender | Winnipeg Sun

Sue Caribou still grieves for her niece, Tanya Nepinak.

“She used to call me ‘Auntie Mom,’ and we’d sing together,” Caribou recalled Saturday. “We used to sing Will the Circle Be Unbroken? And I’m going to sing it at the vigil (Sunday).”

Caribou is holding a vigil at Thunderbird House on Sunday at 4 p.m. for both Nepinak and Skye Bighetty, another niece, who was murdered when she was eight years old,

“I’m honouring both my nieces,” Caribou said. “There was a vigil for Skye on the reserve (Pukatagawan) but a lot of her family lives in Winnipeg and couldn’t make it to the reserve. She was the baby of my baby brother…

Ver la entrada original 238 palabras más